West-Melanesia includes the island groups: Flobamora, East Timor, South Maluku, North Maluku and West Papua. All these island groups are, in this day and age, not officially acknowledged as territories belonging to Oceania/Pacific. This is mainly because of Indonesian politics and its pan-Asian policy. Indonesia is Asian and the Republic of Indonesia is an Asian state, but the Flobamorese, East Timorese, Moluccans and Papuans are not Asian.

Despite what is mentioned above, the notion West-Melanesia keeps gaining more ground internationally. It’s refered to directly and indirectly on the internet and it also remains very interesting on academic level.

Below you will find some articles about and commentaries on the concept of West-Melanesia.